Articles, News, Top Stories

The monsoon session of Parliament began on 18th July 2018 and ended on 10th August 2018 having a total of 17 sittings. Having passed 21 bills, this session was held as “Most Productive” for Lok Sabha since 2000. This session also had a remarkable adjournment on 8th August 2018 to pay homage to former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu M. Karunanidhi.

This session of parliament was also unique as the government defeated a No – Confidence Motion brought in by Telugu Desam Party (TDP) member Kesineni Srinivas in the Lok Sabha against the Prime Minister and the Finance Minister for misleading the House about the special category status to Andhra Pradesh.

Various matters were put forth in front of both the houses one of which was to choose the Deputy Chairman for Rajya Sabha as the former Deputy Chairman P J Kurien’s term had ended with that month. Therefore, Harivansh Narayan Singh of Janata Dal (United) was elected as the new Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha.

The government had various legislative agendas to achieve of which the triple talaq bill topped, as it was already passed by the Lok Sabha and the approval of Rajya Sabha was pending. The Rajya Sabha introduced two major changes to the bill and was tabled for approval, but the session ended before the bill could be passed. It is speculated that an emergent meeting may be called for passing of the bill.

Apart form the triple talaq bill, another notable subject of discussion was the Andhra Pradesh   Re-Organization Act, in which the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and the other opposition parties asked the BJP government to grant special category status to Andhra Pradesh.

Among the other discussions challenges of Adarsh Railway Stations, delay in setting up Lok Pal, mob lynching and Prevention of Corruption (Amendment) Bill, 2018 were of significance.

BY – Roshni Valasubramanian, Student Reporter, INBA

Related Post